Monthly Peace In A Poem – Abou Ben Adhem

From: Angel of Peace (Boston: American Peace S...

From: Angel of Peace (Boston: American Peace Society) (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

In support of Bloggers for Peace, I want to share some of my favorite poems monthly, along with some of the peace that reading them brings to me.

This particular poem is quite famous, and I have loved it for many years.

If you have never heard of Abou Ben Adhem, then I am very pleased to introduce him to YOU. 🙂

Read poetry slowly, out loud when possible.  Savor the words.  Namaste.

xo Rufina

Abou Ben Adhem

Poem by Leigh Hunt

Abou Ben Adhem (May his tribe increase!)

Awoke one night from a deep dream of peace,

And saw, within the moonlight in his room,

Making it rich, and like a lily in bloom,

An angel writing in a book of gold –

Exceeding peace had made Ben Adhem bold,

And to the presence in the room he said,

‘What writest thou?’ – The vision rais’d its head,

And with a look made of all sweet accord,

Answer’d, ‘The names of those who love the Lord.’

‘And is mine one?’ said Abou.  ‘Nay, not so,’

Replied the angel.  Abou spoke more low,

But cheerly still; and said, ‘I pray thee, then,

Write me as one that loves his fellow men.’

The angel wrote, and vanish’d. – The next night

It came again with a great wakening light,

And show’d the names whom love of God had blest,

And lo! – Ben Adhem’s name led all the rest.

About the Poet:  James Henry Leigh Hunt (19 October 1784 – 28 August 1859), best known as Leigh Hunt, was an English critic, essayist, poet and writer. The Wit in the Dungeon is a biography.

Leigh Hunt

About Rufina

Smalltown girl sharing from life's plate in small bits and large bites.
This entry was posted in Peace and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Monthly Peace In A Poem – Abou Ben Adhem

  1. Kozo says:

    Love the poem, Rufina. Love the rhymes and story. I’m just trying to figure out if the name stands for something. Am I missing something very obvious? {{{Hugs}}} Kozo

    • Rufina says:

      I think that the poet purposefully chose a name that is not a standard Christian one, to make a point and show God’s love of all men, regardless of religion. That is my own interpretation, and one of the reasons that I love the poem too. Thanks Kozo. {{{Hugs}}} back.

  2. mj says:

    Sufina, you are an angel yourself! Just a few days ago, I was going over this poem in my head… it’s a beautiful poem and has a deep message. Abou Ben Adam was an Afghan prince and this poem is awash with Sufi influence.
    Sufi thought influenced many classical Western writers like Chaucer, Dante. Exactly what you say: God does not distinguish between men… all are equal, but then all religions of the world preach this. Have a peace-filled day! God bless u!

  3. Madhu says:

    One of my favourites Rufina. Love the suggestion that loving ones fellow men is equivalent to loving God. A much needed reminder 🙂

  4. winsomebella says:

    You are right—-reading aloud makes a big difference. Love it!

  5. Pingback: Inspirational Photography | Spiritual World Traveler

  6. sara says:

    I am a poetry heathen and have never heard of this poem before…but I read it out loud like you said to…such a beautiful rhythm and words creating images. Beautiful! Can’t wait to see what other poems you will be sharing 🙂

    • Rufina says:

      I have been getting into poetry more recently in the past couple of years. I also am a fan of Jacqueline Kennedy, and I have a couple of books that her daughter Caroline had published of her mother’s favorites. She said that Jackie used to read poetry to her and John from a very young age, and it instilled in them a love for the music of words. Can you imagine being read poetry to in Jackie-O’s whispery voice? What a memory that must be! I’m glad that you liked Abou Ben Adhem. I have started a page for this series, and there is also one other one there that I think you will also enjoy very much! http://300dayjourney.wordpress.com/monthly-peace-in-a-poem-b4peace/

  7. That was such a treat Rufina both for the music of the words that were written and also for their meaning. Beautiful, xo

  8. Kath says:

    This is a beautiful poem with a lovely message! Thank you for sharing! 🙂

  9. bronxboy55 says:

    This line jumped out at me: “Exceeding peace had made Ben Adhem bold.” The very opposite of warlike aggression — the freedom that peace can bring.

Leave a comment